Home Upcoming Books Best Upcoming Books: June 2021

Best Upcoming Books: June 2021

by Janise
As an Amazon Associate I earn money from qualifying purchases

June is the start of warm weather and good times. For some people that means barbecues and going to summer concerts. For me? Books, books and more books! I just love reading, what can I say?

This looks to be a great month for reading as well with a lot of outstanding titles to look forward to. The World Gives Way looks to be a good entry into the dystopian fiction genre that I can’t wait to get my hands on. While. The Jasmine Throne has the potential to be my next fantasy series obsession.

Love is usually in the air as the weather warms up as well which probably explains all the great romance books dropping this month! New books form Casey McQuiston, Kerry Winfrey, and Nicola Yoon is almost too much goodness in one month. I’ll be sure to pick up an extra box of Kleenex at the store. I might be needing it for all the happy tears!

It’s always good to follow that up with some action and thrillers, and June has us covered there as well. New Scot Harvath? Yes. New Teddy Fay? Yes! Survive the Night, a book about a car ride with a potential serial killer? YES! I honestly can’t wait for these books. Plus, some great horror this month including Double Threat by F. Paul Wilson. Voices in your head talking to you? I can definitely relate to that, lol!

Check out my full list of new book releases for June 2021.

Best Upcoming Cozy Mystery Books: June 2021

Death on the Night of Lost Lizards by Julia Buckley: The third book in Julia Buckley’s Hungarian Tea House Mystery series. Hana is getting ready for the holiday season when she gets word that a murderer is on the loose. The victim is a local professor and Hana knows, thanks to her psychic ability, that she will get pulled into the investigation.

Mocha, She Wrote by Ellie Alexander: This will be the 13th entry in the Bakeshop Mystery series. The town of Ashland is abuzz as the West Coast Barista Cup heads to town. Jules is especially excited as Andy, the head barista, has been selected for the competition. They are excited, but that goes out the window when a judge spits out Andy’s offering and calls it the worst thing he’s ever tasted. Shortly after, the judge is found dead and Andy is the number one suspect. Jules knows it can’t be true and sets out to clear his name.

Draw and Order by Cheryl Hollon: Appalachian guide Miranda Trent is taking a group of rock climbers up the challenging Battleship Rock Trail when they find a skeleton on the trailhead. The skeleton belongs to her cousin and the local authorities rule it as an accidental death. Miranda is not so sure though and starts her own investigation.

Reserved for Murder by Victoria Gilbert: The second entry in the Book Lovers B&B Mystery series. Charlotte Reed is holding a curated event with some big names in romantic fantasy which brings tons of fans to town. Unfortunately for one of the, it was also bring her death.

A Glimmer of a Clue by Daryl Wood Gerber: Courtney Kelly is the owner of a fairy-gardening and tea shop in Carmel, California in the Fairy Garden Mystery series. Courtney stands witness to her friend Wanda getting into a hair-pulling fight with a local art critic, Lana, and Courtney is forced to break it up using her garden hose. When Lana turns up dead shortly thereafter and Wanda turns up asking “What have I done?” Courtney sets out to investigate.

Best Upcoming Fantasy/Sci-Fi Books: June 2021

Ten Low by Stark Holborn: Ten Low refers to the title character of this book who is living out at the edge of the universe. She’s the kind of character I love: an ex-medic and ex-con who is just trying to forget about her memories of the war. When she saves a teenage girl from a crashed life craft, she thinks she’s doing a good thing. What she doesn’t know is that this girl is actually a super solider who survived an assassination attempt. Now, Ten will try to get her off world by any means necessary.

The World Gives Way by Marissa Levien: The synopsis for this one says that it’s “perfect for fans of Station Eleven.” Well, that just so happens to be one of my all-time favorite books so I’m going to be all over this one. The story takes place in a near-future on the brink of collapse where a young woman manages to escape a life of servitude and heads out on the run. Yes, please!

A Chorus Rises by Bethany C. Morrow: This will be the second book in the Song Below Water series. The first book introduced us to the world of black sirens and their incredible powers. The second book will focus on Naema Bradshaw, an Eloko, who is beloved by all. Until the day that she exposes a Siren to the whole world and ends up dragged in the media for it. Everyone around her abandons and vilifies her, but she is determined to stage a comeback.

The Jasmine Throne by Tasha Suri: Tasha Suri’s first book in the Burning Kingdoms series comes out this month. Malini is a princess imprisoned in an ancient cliff side temple by her brother. While Priya is her servant, charged with cleaning Malini’s chambers. However, the magic of the temple calls to Priya. When Malini discovers her true powers, the two will team up to set the empire ablaze.

When the Sparrow Falls by Neil Sharpson: Agent Nikolai South lives in the last sanctuary of the human race. The world is run by artificial intelligence and there are strict penalties for straying from the path. A propagandist is discovered as a “machine” which gives Nikolai a new mission to chaperon the widow to claim her husband’s remains. However, the “machine” widow bears an uncanny resemblance to his late wife. A fact that sends him on a search that could end up bringing down the entire Republic.

Best Upcoming Horror Books: June 2021

For the Wolf by Hannah Whitten: For the Wolf will be the first book in The Wilderwood series. The story sees Red, the second born, being sacrificed to the Wolf of the Wood to save the kingdom. She is the first Second Daughter born in centuries and this sacrifice is her only purpose, meant to return the world’s captured gods. Red is happy to do it as she is plagued by magic she can’t control. However, the legend turns out to be false. The Wolf is a man and the real enemy is the monsters that the gods have become.

Double Threat by F. Paul Wilson: Daley has a voice in her head. The voice claims to be a separate entity sharing her body, but she thinks at first that she is schizophrenic. She starts to believe it and finally accepts it when she realizes that they have the power to heal the incurable. She heads to small town to hone her skills where she encounters an obscure cult who quickly identify her as their enemy.

The Library of the Dead by T.L. Huchu: Ropa dropped out of school to become a ghostalker and she finds herself plenty busy as they have a lot to say. She carries messages to those left behind for money, but she has a new purpose when she is told that someone has been bewitching children. She decides to investigate and finds a case that will shake her to her very core.

The Ancient Evil Versus The Good Boy by Zachary Finn: Sometimes a good title is all it takes and this one has it. The story sees a man taking a part-time job at an Animal Shelter and adopting a mysterious dog named Desmond. The two will need each other when the Ancient Evil and its Shadow People arriving, forcing them to fight for their lives.

The Shape of Darkness by Laura Purcell: Agnes is a silhouette artist in Victorian-era Bath who finds her career struggling in the age of the photograph. She has few clients left and then the clients that she does have start turning up dead. She goes to a medium to try and find the answers, but they only end up making things worse: opening a door to something that they can’t close.

Best Upcoming Mystery/Thriller Books: June 2021

Black Ice by Brad Thor – Note: coming out July instead now.: The 20th entry in the Scot Harvath series looks like a good one. The story begins with Scot living the good life and considering retirement. However, his deadly past comes calling and he’s left with no choice but to get back into action. A man he killed years ago is back and he has a deadly plan for the world. A plan that Harvath must stop.

Jackpot by Stuart Woods and Bryon Quertermous: Film producer Teddy Fay is lured to the city of Macau to help some friends. The city is beautiful but it has a dark underbelly with ties close to home. There is a lot of money at stake and the villains aren’t about to let some film producer get in the way. What they don’t know is that Teddy is no ordinary film producer.

Survive the Night by Riley Sager: This could be one of my most anticipated books of the month. First of all, it takes place in 1991 and sees a movie-obsessed college student on her way back to Ohio. Charlie is happy to get away from school after losing one of her best friends to the serial killer known as the Campus Killer. She hitches a ride with Josh, a fellow student, but she really knows little about him. The more she rides with him, the more convinced she becomes that he could be the Campus Killer.

Castle Shade by Laurie R. King: The 19th entry in the Mary Russell and Sherlock Holmes book series by Laurie R. King. This entry sees the pair called to Roumania where a beautiful queen is worried about a threat that isn’t so clear to see. There are rumors of vampires. Holmes and Russell are dubious, but intrigued.

The Gossip by Nancy Bush: The second book in the River Glen series explores the dark side of popularity and what can happen when high school gossip turns deadly. Mackenzie Laughlin teams up with Jesse James Taft, a P.I, to investigate a missing woman. The case turns into a murder investigation with ties back to her high school days.

Best Upcoming Romance Books: June 2021

The Layover by Lacie Waldon: Ava Greene has been a flight attendant for ten years and she’s thinking of leaving it behind to settle down. She decides on one last trip before she calls it quits. On this flight is Jack Stone, a former pilot and man she’s held a grudge against for years. When their plane has mechanical problems and they are on a layover for the weekend, the two end up stuck at a luxury resort together. The two will end up seeing each other a lot and Ava will start to second-guess what she thought she knew about Jack.

Mama's Boy by Avery Flynn: This will be the first book in Avery Flynn’s Last Man Standing series. The story will follow a self proclaimed mama’s boy. He’s the kind of guy who every woman wants to take home to mom. Every woman except for the one he’s dating and falling in love with.

Very Sincerely Yours by Kerry Winfrey: I really enjoyed Kerry Winfrey’s Waiting for Tom Hanks so this one is definitely on my must read this month. The story sees a recently dumped Teddy Phillips deciding to write a letter to a local children’s show host who she finds very soothing. Everett gets the letter and finds himself drawn to her honesty, and the two begin writing back and forth without meeting.

One Last Stop by Casey McQuiston: Twenty-three-year-old August has a subway crush. However, her crush turns out to be no ordinary girl. She’s actually displaced in time from the 1970s and August will do whatever it takes to save her.

Instructions for Dancing by Nicola Yoon: Nicola Yoon has had two hits so far so her third book looks like another must-read for me. The story will see Evie finding herself at La Brea Dance Studio where she’ll learn to dance with a boy named X. He’s everything that she is not and she’s starting to fall for him. It’s not what she had in mind, but finding love might be worth the risk.

That’s what I’ll be reading in June 2021. What looks good to you? Is there anything I’m missing from my list? Let me know in the comments below!

Related Posts